The Muckraker

FOIA Cat Strikes Again

I’ve been using the Freedom of Information Act to get information since 2007. Two years after becoming a reporter, I decided I wanted to do more than cover school sports days; I wanted to become an investigative reporter. It was a decision I arrived at gradually. The previous year, I’d won an award for an investigation into a suicide epidemic in North Belfast, where I grew up. When I figured out that digging for dirt had a real name – investigative journalism – I decided that would be my job – with the optimistic naiveté only a teenager can have. I bought Heather Brooke’s fantastic book on the UK FOI Act, Your Right To Know, because I figured it would help me learn how to “do investigative reporting”.

View original post 603 more words

Leave a Reply

